It’s that time of year when the impact of the recent Oregon Legislation Session is starting to be realized by employers. Several new laws (and at least one that previously was implemented) are, or will be, affecting employers and employees. Following is a summary of just some of the changes on the horizon.
Do you remember what minimum wage was when you stated your first job? Here's an idea of how much things have changed:
- In 1968 the Oregon minimum wage was $1.25 per hour.
- In 1981 it was $3.10 per hour.
- In 1998 it increased to $6.00 per hour.
Effective July 1, 2017, the new Oregon minimum wage will range between $10.00 and $11.25 per hour, depending on where employers are located. In addition to the standard minimum wage, Oregon now sets separate rates for Portland Metro and Nonurban Counties. The differences have been established out of consideration for the varied cost of living in each area. Oregon will increase its minimum wage by $.50 to $.75 per hour in July each year until 2022.